In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

ESC Working Group on Thrombosis

Platelets and coagulation factors have diverse roles in many cardiovascular diseases and basic and clinical research in this area has led to marked improvements in clinical outcomes such as in patients with atherothrombotic events or atrial fibrillation. The pathways involved in thrombosis and haemostasis also play important roles in vascular inflammation and wound healing. The evolving complexities of the science and available treatments for management and prevention of thrombosis, as well as the requirements for yet more effective treatments, drive the need for ongoing dissemination of knowledge and development of consensus amongst both practising physicians and research scientists.

It is this need that the ESC Working Group on Thrombosis aims to meet.

Aims and Activities

  • Enhance knowledge of thrombosis in clinical cardiology in Europe.
  • Stimulate postgraduate education in thrombosis both at the European Congress of Cardiology and beyond.
  • Stimulate clinical research in thrombosis in clinical cardiology in Europe, to be performed preferably by young investigators.
  • Stimulate basic research on thrombosis in order to increase our knowledge on the pathophysiology to initiate the development of new preventive and therapeutic tools.
  • Bridge basic science in these areas with the clinical practice of Cardiology.
  • Produce consensus in order to influence current clinical practice of Cardiology in Europe with regard to drugs or treatments intervening on vascular biology and blood vessel-wall interactions".

The Working Group on Thrombosis was established in the ‘60s, in the process of the general current shaping of the European Society of Cardiology. Constituent bodies of the Society are National Societies, from various affiliated countries, and Working Groups. These were intended, and still are, mostly, as the “scientific motor” of the Society, collecting active scientists in the cardiovascular area from whatever country in Europe around common themes.

The history of a Working Group on Thrombosis, one of the original Working Groups of the Society, is therefore a history of the interaction of persons from different origin, and often from quite different background, organising the scientific activities of the Society in this area of knowledge at the best of their intelligence and drive. At the beginning, this was mostly the Congress, but more and more, in recent years, the Working Group has expanded its scope through initiatives, many of which ongoing, who continue far beyond the organisation of scientific sessions at the yearly venue.

It is the impression of the writer that this task of compiling impressions and memories by those who led the process in their time is not futile, and serves the purpose of constituting the pedestal, a solid one, on which we now stand. Overall – and again this is a personal impression of the writer – they give the idea of a highly active and dynamic body. A practical consequence, and possibly the most important achievement in this process, was to cement solid relationships of personal esteem, and often true friendship, among people from different European cultures and backgrounds. This has been an incredible thrill for most of us, and served the immensely valuable goal of cementing a true “European” spirit.

Nucleus 2022-2024


Dr. Andrea Rubboli, FESC
Division of Cardiology
Largo Nigrisoli 2
IT-40133 Bologna
email address


Prof. Diana Gorog, FESC
United Kingdom
email address


Dr. Gemma Vilahur Garcia, FESC
Research Institute
Hospital Santa Creu and Sant Pau
email address


Prof. Tobias Geisler, FESC
email address


Asso. Prof. Heleen M M Van Beusekom, FESC 
The Netherlands
email address

Communication Coordinator

Prof. Gianluca Campo
email address

Ordinary Nucleus members

Prof. Dan Atar, FESC
email address

Assoc. Prof. Christina Christerrson, FESC
email address

Dr. Jose Luis Ferreiro
email address

Assoc. Prof. Bruna Gigante
email address

Prof. Eliano Pio Navarese
email address

Assoc. Prof. Jurrien M Ten Berg, FESC
The Netherlands
email address

Non-voting Nucleus members 

Dr. Marco De Carlo, FESC
email address

Prof. Gregory YH Lip, FESC
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
email address

Prof. Dirk Sibbing, FESC
email address

Prof. Christophe Vandenbriele
email address

Most relevant publications from Nucleus Members

Access the list

Nucleus History

Past Chairpersons Mandate
Mireille Brochier – view contribution Chairperson 1988-1990
Colin RM Prentice Chairperson 1990-1992
Freek W. A. Verheugt – view contribution Chairperson 1992-1994
Carlo Patrono – view contribution Chairperson 1994-1996
John F. Martin – view contribution Chairperson 1996-1998
Desmond Fitzgerald – view contribution Chairperson 1998-2000
Raffaele De Caterina – view contribution Chairperson 2000-2002
Lina Badimon Chairperson 2002-2004
Steen Dalby Kristensen Chairperson 2004-2006
Kurt Huber – view contribution Chairperson 2006-2008
Felicita Andreotti Chairperson 2008-2010
Dietrich Gulba Chairperson 2010-2012
Robert F. Storey Chairperson 2012-2014
Joao Morais Chairperson 2014-2016
Bianca Rocca Chairperson 2016-2018
Dirk Sibbing Chairperson 2018-2020
Gemma Vilahur Garcia Chairperson 2020-2022

In memorium

Steen Elkjaer Husted, MD, FESC, 1950-2016